Listen Live Logo

Listen: Kildare Fine Gael Cllrs. Reveal How They Will Vote In Leadership Contest.

: 05/18/2017 - 12:31

The election of a new Fine Gael leader will be conducted using an electoral college.

This means that the ballots of the parliamentary party, which includes Kildare TDs Bernard Durkan and Martin Heydon, will account for 65%.

Votes of councillors are worth 25%.

The Irish Times conducted a poll of Fine Gael councillors, nationally and found that, in Kildare,

Brendan Weld favours Simon Coveney, Ivan Keatley & Mark Stafford are undecided.

Darren Scully's response is not noted, put the paper has estimated that he will vote for Mr. Varadkar

The votes of ordinary members of the party are worth 10%.

And, while Fiona McLoughlin Healy is Cllr., she does not have the Fine Gael whip, so her ballot will count in the latter category.

She indicated to the Irish Times that she was undecided, but declared a preference for Leo Varadkar on this morning's edition of Kildare Today.

Parliamentary Party Chairman, deputy Martin Heydon says he can't declare for any candidate:

06heydon-finegael-clip-pg.mp3, by Ciara Plunkett


About Us

Kfm broadcasts on 97.6fm and 97.3fm to all parts of county Kildare 24 hours a day from the state-of-the-art Kfm Broadcast Centre, Newhall, Naas, Co. Kildare and around the world on this website.

Our aim is to entertain and inform our listeners, with the best music, local news and current affairs plus top class live sports coverage.

Remember, Kfm is your local station; we’re always interested in hearing your views and suggestions about the radio station.  You can find all of our contact details on the Contact Us section of the site.

Enjoy your visit, thanks for listening and spread the word about Kildare's Kfm!