Kildare Today

9am - 11am
Clem Ryan

Listen Live Logo

Listen Live Extra Logo

Kildare Minors Into Leinster Final: Match Report

: 07/13/2018 - 21:08

Kildare’s football summer keeps rolling on!

Tonight (Friday), the minor footballers got things off to a great start: qualifying for the Leinster Minor Football final.

In another excellent game, this replay, in Aughrim, lived up to the drawn game in Newbridge as Kildare emerged winners by 2-12 to 1-13.

But, it was Wicklow who started at full steam; a goal by Eoin Darcy (he scored 2-5 in the drawn game) after only 4 minutes.  By the quarter hour, the Garden county lead by 1-3 to 2 points, with Darcy and Matthew Ging causing the Kildare defence serious problems.

Points by Sam Morrissey and Nick Jackman brought Kildare to within a point by 25 minutes.

Just on the cusp of half time, Sam Morrissey followed up a dropping ball and punched to the net to leave the score at 1-5 each.

But, Wicklow responded in style with two points to Kildare’s 1 and at half time Wicklow 1-7 Kildare 1-6, with Wicklow having had the better of the play.

Manager Padraigh Carbery (former Longford star!) brought on Muiris Curtin at half time and he immediately announcedhis presence in the opening 5 minutes with 1-2.

On 50 minutes, Kildare lead 2-9 to 1-9 and from there held the initiative to eventually lead by 5 points, before late Wicklow points in the four minutes of injury time reduce the Lilywhites lead to 2 points.  

Wicklow had two late chances and piled on the pressure, but Kildare held on to book a final spot against Meath, which will be played next Saturday, at 2pm, in O'Connor Pk, Tullamore.

Final Score: Kildare 2-12 Wicklow 1-13.

Kildare Scorers: Muiris Curtin 1-2, Sam Morrissey 1-1, Jack Smith 0-4, Eoghan O’Haire 0-2, Alex Beirne, Nick Jackman, Liam Broderick 0-1 each.

Wicklow Scorers: Matthew Ging 0-8 (2f) , Eoin Darcy 1-2 (1 45m), Cillian McDonald, David Lawlor, John Keogh 0-1 each.

KILDARE: John Ball; John Lynch, Sean Hill, Jack Hamill; Nick Jackman, Kevin Kelleher, Paddy McDermott; Liam Broderick, Marcus Kiely; Sam Morrissey, Alex Beirne, Michael McGovern; Eoghan O’Haire, Aaron Kennedy, Jack Smith.

Subs: Dan Caulfield for Jackman (26), Muiris Curtin for  McGovern (HT), Padraig Behan for Smith (52), Drew Costello for O’Haire (61).

WICKLOW: Ben Fennell; Fionn O’Carroll, Sam Kearney, Tom Moran; Kevin Quinn, Oisin Cullen, Christopher Grimes; Eoghan Byrne, Sean Doody; Jack Fleming Foran, Craig Maguire, John Keogh; Matthew Ging, Eoin Darcy, Cillian McDonald.

Subs: Shaun Cranley for Fleming Foran (HT), David Maloney for Maguire (52), David Lawlor for Cullen (58).


About Us

Kfm broadcasts on 97.6fm and 97.3fm to all parts of county Kildare 24 hours a day from the state-of-the-art Kfm Broadcast Centre, Newhall, Naas, Co. Kildare and around the world on this website.

Our aim is to entertain and inform our listeners, with the best music, local news and current affairs plus top class live sports coverage.

Remember, Kfm is your local station; we’re always interested in hearing your views and suggestions about the radio station.  You can find all of our contact details on the Contact Us section of the site.

Enjoy your visit, thanks for listening and spread the word about Kildare's Kfm!