Kildare Today

9am - 11am
Clem Ryan

Listen Live Logo

Listen Live Extra Logo

Weds pm Sport: Kildare GAA County Board Nominations Announced; A 5th World Paralymic Gold for Jason Smith.

: 11/13/2019 - 17:23

Last night’s GAA County Board meeting approved a new format for next year’s senior and intermediate football championships.

The main feature of the new system is that there will be a 16 team open draw first round in each championship, with the 8 winners status being guaranteed for the following season.

Following the first round, further open draws will take place to assign the winners and losers to various groups, who will then play each other to decide final Group places, followed by Quarter and semi finals.

The full structure is on our website and twitter @kfmsport.


The draw for next season’s Keogh Cup hurling has pitched Kildare in the same group as Down and Offaly.

Kildare will open away to Offaly on Sunday, December 1st at 2pm.

They’ll be home to Down the following Sunday, December 8th

The other group includes Wicklow, Meath and Antrim


The nominations for the Annual County Convention in The Osprey Hotel, Naas on Wednesday December 11th at 7:30pm have been announced.

Outgoing vice-chairman Mick Gorman will be returned as Chairman.

The St. Laurence’s official is the only nomination for the position.

Nominations Received

Cathaoirleach (Chairman): Mick Gorman.

Leas-Cathaoirleach (Vice Chairman): Tom Cross, Colm Farrell, Marty McEvoy, Mick Mullen.

Rúnaí (Secretary): Dave Cahill (Outgoing).

Cisteoir (Treasurer): Alan Dunney (Outgoing).

Oifigeach Caidreamh Poibli (PRO): Christine Murray (Outgoing).

Oifigeach na gCluichi (Coaching Officer): Declan Jacob, Shane Power, Martin Whyte.

Oifigeach na Gaeilge (Irish Officer): Seamus Ó Midheach (Outgoing).

Comhairle Laighean (Leinster Council Delegates X 2): Larry Curtin, Ger Donnelly, Colm Farrell,  Marty McEvoy, Mick Mullen (Outgoing), Seamus Ó Midheach.

Ard Chomhairle (Central Council Delegate): Ger Donnelly, Colm Farrell (Outgoing), John McMahon.

Leinster Convention: Dave Cahill, Ger Donnelly, Alan Dunney, Colm Farrell, Mick Gorman.

Congress: Dave Cahill, Petria Dobbins, Ger Donnelly, Alan Dunney, Mick Gorman.


Tottenham 17 years old Troy Parrott will make his first start for the Republic of Ireland against New Zealand tomorrow night.

Celtic's Lee O'Connor will also make his debut while Shamrock Rovers midfielder Jack Byrne is set to start.

Jason Smyth has won gold in the men's 100-metres T13 at the World Para-Athletics Championships in Dubai.

Smyth blitzed the field to take the line in a new championship record time of 10-point-5-4 seconds.

It's his fifth time to win world gold, and he becomes Ireland's second medallist of this year's Games.


Pat Smullen says it's "humbling" to have been honoured at racing's Cartier awards.

The nine-time former flat jockey champion received the Merit Award last night in recognition of his fundraising efforts for cancer research.

Smullen, who has been battling pancreatic cancer for the last two years, has helped to raise over two-million euro for cancer trials this year.


Douvan will make his long awaited return at Clonmel tomorrow afternoon.

The Willie Mullins-trained nine-year-old will end a 569-day absence to run in the Grade 2 Clonmel Oil Chase.



About Us

Kfm broadcasts on 97.6fm and 97.3fm to all parts of county Kildare 24 hours a day from the state-of-the-art Kfm Broadcast Centre, Newhall, Naas, Co. Kildare and around the world on this website.

Our aim is to entertain and inform our listeners, with the best music, local news and current affairs plus top class live sports coverage.

Remember, Kfm is your local station; we’re always interested in hearing your views and suggestions about the radio station.  You can find all of our contact details on the Contact Us section of the site.

Enjoy your visit, thanks for listening and spread the word about Kildare's Kfm!