Listen Live Logo

Listen Live Extra Logo

Weds p.m. Update: England World Cup Squad & Leinster Player Contracts

: 05/16/2018 - 17:12

19-year old Trent Alexander-Arnold and Burnley goalkeeper Nick Pope are the only two uncapped players included in England’s World Cup squad.

Chelsea midfielder Ruben Loftus-Cheek gets the nod ahead of the likes of Jack Wilshere and in-form Jonjo Shelvey.

Manchester City midfielder Fabian Delph is included.

Southgate has omitted goalkeeper Joe Hart, who has spent the past year on loan at West Ham and Arsenal midfielder Jack Wilshere.

Goalkeepers: Jack Butland (Stoke City), Jordan Pickford (Everton), Nick Pope (Burnley).

Defenders: John Stones (Manchester City), Harry Maguire (Leicester City), Phil Jones (Manchester Utd), Kyle Walker (Manchester City), Kieran Trippier (Tottenham Hotspur), Gary Cahill (Chelsea), Ashley Young (Manchester Utd), Danny Rose (Tottenham Hotspur), Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool).

Midfielders: Eric Dier (Tottenham Hotspur), Jordan Henderson (Liverpool), Dele Alli (Tottenham Hotspur), Jesse Lingard (Manchester Utd), Raheem Sterling (Manchester City), Ruben Loftus-Cheek (Chelsea), Fabian Delph (Manchester City).

Forwards: Harry Kane (Tottenham Hotspur), Jamie Vardy (Leicester City), Marcus Rashford (Manchester Utd), Danny Welbeck (Arsenal).

England begin their Group G campaign against Tunisia in Volgograd on June 18th, followed by games against Panama and Belgium.


The changes at Everton continue.

Following the sacking of Sam Allyrdice, the club has appointed Marcel Brands as their new Director of Football, replacing Steve Walsh.

He's held similar roles in Holland with PSV Eindhoven and A-Z Alkmaar.

West Ham confirmed, today, that David Moyes short-term contract will not be renewed, despite saving the club from relegation.

England 1966 World Cup winner Ray Wilson has died at the age of 83.

Wilson won 63 caps in the left back position.


Lyon is the venue for tonight's Europa League final between Atletico Madrid and Marseille.

The Spanish side is aiming to the lift the trophy for the third time this decade.


Marseille are appearing in their first European final since 2005.

While the central contracts for Tadhg Furlong and Rob Kearney have previously been announced, Leinster have confirmed an additional 19 contracts

Included in the list of 21 players are 12 Irish internationals with 280 caps between them.

Among the contracts awarded are Kildare’s Fergus McFadden and James Tracey.

The full list is on and twitter@kfmsport

This evening’s local GAA fixtures: first named at home, games at 7.30  Wed 16 May

Reserve Football League

Div. 1

Kilcock V Celbridge

St Kevin's V Naas

Moorefield V Sarsfields

Clane V Athy

Div. 2

Allenwood V Eadestown

Leixlip V Rathangan

Johnstownbridge V Round Towers

Carbury V Confey

Div. 3 Section A

Castledermot V Monasterevan

Kilcullen V Grangenolvin

Ellistown V Kildangan

Div. 3 Section B

Rathcoffey V Caragh

Sallins V Ballyteague

Div. 4 St Laurence's V Clane


Today’s racing is in Punchestown from 5.45.

About Us

Kfm broadcasts on 97.6fm and 97.3fm to all parts of county Kildare 24 hours a day from the state-of-the-art Kfm Broadcast Centre, Newhall, Naas, Co. Kildare and around the world on this website.

Our aim is to entertain and inform our listeners, with the best music, local news and current affairs plus top class live sports coverage.

Remember, Kfm is your local station; we’re always interested in hearing your views and suggestions about the radio station.  You can find all of our contact details on the Contact Us section of the site.

Enjoy your visit, thanks for listening and spread the word about Kildare's Kfm!